4% Bank Interest Subsidy

The Scheme of Credit Subsidy for Personal Housing Mortgage Loans (4% Bank Interest Subsidy) 

In 1996, in order to stimulate the weak property market and help inhabitants for purchasing their own properties, the government issued Decree-Law No.35/96/M and established the scheme of credit subsidy for personal housing mortgage loans, what we commonly call "4% bank interest subsidy". This system has been prolonged the duration of application and ended until the December of 1999. After the announcement of By-Law N°24/2000, a new round of "4% bank interest subsidy" has been started its implementation on 1st July 2000. It has also been extended the application duration and such system had been terminated on 30th June 2002. Beneficiaries of the 4% bank interest subsidy should pay attention to the following terms:

1. If the beneficiary owes the contribution of the housing more than 3 months, not only the subsidy will be cancelled, the beneficiary also have to return the whole amount of the subsidy received after the approval by Chief Executive.
2. If the beneficiary uses his/her self-occupied apartment for other purposes, he/she will be asked to pay back double of the received subsidy.
3. If two beneficiaries organise a new family because of marriage or common law marriage, both of them have to make a written form of announcement to inform Housing Bureau for the discontinuation of the subsidy application for one of their housing, but the subsidy received need not to be returned (only appropriate for the applicants regulated by By-Law N°24/2000).

Notice about Reselling the Housing which has Applied for the 4% Bank Interest Subsidy
Beneficiary needs to return the whole amount of the subsidy and the stipulated interest if he/she resells his/her individual apartment within 5 years after the establishment of the loan contract by the certificate. Besides, the beneficiary has to apply to Housing Bureau by written form of request. After he/she returns the subsidy, Housing Bureau will issue a declaration for the beneficiary within 5 workdays (count from the day after submitting all the required documents), as a reference for him/her to handover the ownership of his/her apartment.

If the ownership of the individual apartment is handovered after 5 years, the subsidy will be terminated, except the transfer of ownership is due to inheritance.

Application forms related to 4% Bank Interest Subsidy 
For handling the application of:
- Termination of the subsidy and/ issue of declaration of the handover of individual apartment

四厘利息補貼

「取得或融資租賃自住房屋之貸款補貼制度」 (俗稱 "四厘利息補貼")

政府於1996年為刺激疲弱樓市及扶助居民置業,頒佈第35/96/M號法令制定了「取得或融資租賃自住房屋貸款之補貼」制度,俗稱「四厘利息補貼」,該制度經數次延期後已於1999年12月結束。其後,隨著第24/2000號行政法規的頒佈,於2000年7月1日開始實行之新一期的四厘利息補貼制度,該制度經延期後已於2002年6月30日結束。已批核獲得四厘利息補貼制度的受益人應注意下列事項:

1. 如拖欠樓宇供款逾3個月,經由行政長官作出批示,除了被終止發放補貼外,亦必須退回所收取之補貼金額。
2. 若將自住單位用作其他用途,須雙倍退還所收取之補貼。
3. 若兩名受益人因婚姻或事實婚關係而組成一個新的家團,雙方均須書面通知房屋局取消其中一間房屋之補貼申請,但已收取之補貼則毋需退還 (只適用於受第24/2000號行政法規規範的受益人)。

轉售獲四厘利息補貼的單位須知
受益人自以公證書訂立貸款合同之日起計5年內轉移獨立單位,則須退還已收取之全部補貼和有關法定利息。而受益人須以書面方式向房屋局提出申請,在受益人退還有關款項後,房屋局將於5個工作天內 (由齊備所需文件翌日起計算) 發出一份聲明書,以供轉移單位之用。

如上述5年期限屆滿後轉移獨立單位者,將導致終止補貼之發放;但因繼承而轉移者,不在此限。

四厘利息補貼一般項目申請表 (下載)
處理:
- 取消補貼發放及/或領取轉移獨立單位聲明書